Saturday, December 28, 2013

Types of Anemia


Anemia may be defined as qualitative or quantitative deficiency of hemoglobin in the blood for the age and sex of the individual. The Normal Hemoglobin level in an adult male is 14 to 18 mg/dl and 12 to 16 for female. When the hemoglobin concentration is below of this level then the person can be called anemic theoretically. Normally the hemoglobin concentration in female body is less than a male body. This is due to the activity of estrogen hormone.
Nail change in Anemia

Classification of Anemia

Morphological classification:

Microcytic hypo chromic anemia:

1.       Iron deficiency anemia
2.       Thalassaemia
3.       Sideroblastic anemia
4.       Anemia in chronic disease.

Normocytic normochromic anemia:

1.       Aplastic anemia

2.       Hemolytic anemia
3.       Acute hemorrhagic anemia

Macrocytic anemia:

1.       Megaloblastic anemia due to vitamin B12 deficiency
2.       Megaloblastic anemia due to Folic acid deficiency

Etiological Classification:

Hemorrhagic anemia: Trauma, Surgical intervention, Peptic Ulcer Disease, Menorrhagia, hook worm infestation.

Hemolytic anemia: Thalassemia, Hemolyti diseases of new born, cold and hot auto antibody, Red blood cell membrane defect etc.  


  1. wow It's amazing.
    Technology Spot :

  2. thanks for information.. i appreciate!